The First World Cup - Uruguay 1930 Countries & Languages Worksheet

Thirteen countries participated in the inaugural World Cup in 1930. Seven were from South America: **Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Peru & Uruguay. Mexico & the USA** represented Central & North America. Four countries came from Europe: **Belgium, Romania, Yugoslavia** and **France**.

One country, **Egypt**, entered the competition but missed the boat. **Arabic** is the official language of Egypt but many of the players also spoke **French**.

Yugoslavia was a federation of countries which then included Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, Macedonia and Montenegro. The official language was **Serbo-Croatia**

Vocabulary: Complete this table about nations competing in 1930 World Cup

Country	People	Official Language
Uruguay	Uruguayan	Spanish
	Belgians	French/Flemish
Argentina		
		Romanian
Mexico		
Yugoslavia	Yugoslavian	Serbo-Croatian
USA		No official language but English most used
Chile	Chilean	
Paraguay		Spanish
France		
	Peruvian	
Bolivia		